Subscribe to our Newsletter

Join the UN.GIFT webinar: Best practices for reporting on human trafficking and the role of the media

Tuesday September 17th, UN.GIFT Webinar Series

The media plays an indispensable role in informing the public about the many manifestations of global human trafficking, presenting the problem in human terms and in all its painful detail. 

  

Photo courtesy of Mimi Chakarova 

In recent years, both global and local news organizations including CNN, Al Jazeera, and the Guardian have increasingly reported about the crime and have been instrumental in raising public awareness about trafficking in persons. As they have shown, the media has a large role to play in mobilizing public awareness, support, and involvement to help prevent and combat trafficking. Due to its reach and ability to mould public opinion, it is a powerful tool for social change.

Yet media coverage is weak and inconsistent in many parts of the world. Some news media outlets are not yet aware of the trafficking phenomenon, or confuse it with other issues such as illegal migration and migrant smuggling. Another challenge for journalists is telling victims' stories while not perpetuating the cycle of exploitation.

The United Nations Global Initiative to Fight Human Trafficking (UN.GIFT) is pleased to invite you to participate in an online seminar that will take an in-depth look at the role of the media in covering and raising awareness about human trafficking, and address the many challenges journalists encounter when reporting about this crime.

Bringing together a panel of distinguished journalists, the conference will be an opportunity to exchange best practices for reporting about human trafficking. Each panelist will make a brief presentation about their work in the field; following the panel presentations will be a moderated Q&A discussion. Questions will come from both the moderator and the online audience.

Our panel will include:

Mimi Chakarova, Photographer, filmmaker, producer of "The Price of Sex"

Harriet Grant, Freelance journalist specialising in migration and human rights, Commissioning Editor for the Guardian's Modern Day Slavery in Focus project

Leonardo Sakamoto, Journalist, Reporter Brazil

Moderated by: Luciana Viegas, Public Information Officer, UNODC

11AM EDT (New York) / 12 noon BRT (Sao Paulo) /

4PM BST (London) / 5PM CET (Vienna)

Registration is required to join this meeting. Click here to register:  UN.GIFT Webinar: Best practices for reporting on human trafficking and the role of the media